I didn’t get to do a shout-out to our resident videographer so ’d like to do it now.

Friends, meet Charles Villanueva, aka Charlie, Chachi, Booboo, Monkey, Son. He is my eldest. He loves making silly videos (among many other things-you should see his elaborate Halloween costumes!) so I decided to hire him to make the campaign video for Mungan and Her Lola. I was worried that he wouldn’t but he readily followed my instructions and repeat requests to do this and that and this again and that again to get the video just so. I’m so happy to know we can work together without ruining our mother-son relationship 😊

When he came into this world, Charlie changed how I thought and lived. His presence urged me to dig deeper into my ancestral roots so I could find what is important to pass to him (and to his younger bro, Jack). When he was 5, his chattiness inspired our first book, Mama, Mama, Do You Know What I Like? He held up a sign to encourage people to fund our first crowdfunding campaign. Now he’s 13 and he’s making our videos for our latest book and giving me tips on how to grow our social media presence.

I just want to post this here and show him how much I appreciate him and love him for the kind, smart, creative powerhouse that he is.

Thank you, Charlie!